Joining the team

Hi everybody!

I’m Sebastian, most people here probably know me under the handle awvwgk, I usually go with. I’ve been active in the Fortran-lang community for almost a year now, mainly at stdlib, the web page and of course our package manager, fpm. Ondřej, Milan and Laurence invited me to take up more responsibility in our community and I happily agreed to help out. Given that I have been hanging around here for a while now, this is a good point to properly introduce myself to all of you.

First, I’ve been using Fortran since 2017 when I started working on a programming project for my Bachelor thesis. Parallel to the Master studies I stayed involved with the research and programming work done in the group of S. Grimme, where I’m now in the third year of my PhD. While I have been programming a bit in Ruby and Python before, I consider Fortran my first proper programming language.

I’m an avid open source developer, I deeply value open minded communities and transparent organization structures. My experience with open source development started when I put up one of my research software on GitHub early 2019, dftd4 turned out to be quite a success and is today integrated in several computational chemistry software packages. Currently, I’m an active developer of several computational chemistry related open source projects, like dftb+, xtb or dftd4.

One thing I learned pretty quickly was that building and distributing is as important as writing good software. My build system of choice is meson because it provides enough flexibility to create a painless experience for users, developers and packagers, but I also accumulated enough knowledge about CMake due to necessity. I’m a package maintainer for more than a dozen feedstocks at conda-forge with most packages written in Fortran or related to Fortran.