Job position(s) in F2003+

Hello everybody,

I have discovered this community only very recently. I am an associate professor at the University of Central Florida (Orlando), and I work with modern fortran as part of my research. I will try to join the next monthly meeting to get an idea of whether there is the opportunity for me to get more involved. That said, I wonder whether it would make sense to advertise here a new postdoctoral position in atomic and molecular physics that I have just opened, supported by DOE funds [University of Central Florida, Argenti Theoretical Attosecond Science Group]. The reason I am asking is that the position entails a considerable amount of code development from someone who should be very proficient in modern fortran, and who would hence have a lot in common with the members of the fortran-lang community. Incidentally, if part of the mandate of this website is to create community, I think it would be appropriate for it to have a job-market section, where competence in modern fortran at a high level, or at least commitment to best code design and construction practices would be a defining feature.
I look forward to your feedback.
Thank you very much for your time and help.
Best wishes,

Luca

(Luca Argenti)

6 Likes

Hi Luca,

Absolutely, I think job postings are definitely on topic. Milan, if you also agree, would you mind creating an appropriate category?

Ondrej

P.S. My background is in atomic physics and electronic structures also.

1 Like

Hi Ondrej,
Thank you for your prompt reply. Sounds awesome! Btw, NĂ©stor Aguirre, an ex colleague of mine, is also working at LANL. He is a big fan of coding like you. I should visit sometime in the future :wink:
Cheers,
Luca

1 Like

Welcome @argenti, and @certik, I agree, I created the Jobs tag and tagged this topic with it.

Luca, I live in Boca Raton and work at the University of Miami, so we’re Fortran neighbors (relatively speaking). :slight_smile:

1 Like

Hi Milan,