GSoC '21 Proposal: Maintenance of the FORD project

Introduction

Hello, Everyone

My name is Harsh Bardhan Mishra, and I’m a Junior Year Student at Sathyabama Institute of Science and Technology, Chennai, India. I am interested to contribute to Fortran-Lang for the purpose of Google Summer of Code '2021 under the guidance of Brad Richardson and Sebastian Ehlert on Maintenance of the FORD project.

I have earlier been an Explorer Fellow at Major League Hacking, Software Engineering Intern at Qxf2 and a Summer Intern at Scholify. I’m also an avid Open-Source Contributor, with contributions to some major Open-Source Projects, and have been maintaining a couple of my Open-Source Project as well to help beginners get started with Open-Source.

Project Description

Through this project, I hope to help maintainers get started with Open-Source maintenance with minimal interventions by development of workflows which can help beginners get started quite easily. Right now, the documentation for the tool is hosted over the Wiki, which makes the Git workflow not directly a part of the documentation.

My proposal presents a solution for guiding new contributors and decreasing the maintainer overload through automation workflows. To actually make it possible, I am looking forward to use Zulipbot, where the content templates can be designed and presented to help the users better understand the contribution workflow. I will also be working on preparing workflows, that can be used to tag maintainers for reviews and add labels automatically.