Fortran compiler for tablets?

Does a Fortran compiler exist for tablets? If there is one, please inform. Paddy.

Based on my knowledge, no, but I’m not a Fortran expert. If you have an ARM-based Linux machine, you can attempt to compile your Fortran code on it and then transfer the file to your Android tablet. However, this process can be challenging due to the security features of the Android system.

Supposing it is an Android tablet, I have found:

https://apkpure.com/pydroid-3-ide-for-python-3/ru.iiec.pydroid3

• Full-featured Terminal Emulator, with a readline support (available in pip).
  • Built-in C, C++ and even Fortran compiler designed specially for Pydroid 3. It lets Pydroid 3 build any library from pip, even if it is using native code. You can also build & install dependencies from a command line.

I have Debian running in Termux on my Android phone and just confirmed I can apt install gfortran and compile and run a program with it.

1 Like

It seems that my knowledge is outdated. :face_with_open_eyes_and_hand_over_mouth: Nonetheless, all of this functions in an emulated ecosystem.

Is it emulated? I thought that termux is just a terminal emulator and letting us run what we install on the device CPU. I’m not sure, it’s just what I thought. Everything that gets installed is the arm64 versions.

There is no gfortran release for Android. Instead, you can install Debian via Termux in an isolated environment. I experimented with Termux but encountered difficulties accessing my actual storage. Well, perhaps I am mistaken. :thinking: