Trouble setting up new project with fpm-gmsh

Hey all!

I’m recently started to learn fortran and I’m still learning, so please bear with me. I want use the gmsh Fortran API and since I really like the user friendliness of fpm, I’m trying to set up my project with using gmsh-fpm. Sadly I run into various problem, some of which I think I found a solution. Here is a rundown of what I tried.
First I start a new project.

fpm new my_gmsh_project

next I added the dependency to the fpm.toml just like the github readme tells me

[dependencies]
gmsh-fpm = { git="https://github.com/gnikit/gmsh-fpm.git" }

I also downloaded the newest version of the gmsh sdk from here
Then I try to build the project the first time using

fpm build --link-flag "-LC:\Thomas\Programme\gmsh-4.11.1-sdk\lib"

But I get an error, while fpm is pulling the gmsh-fpm repository:

<ERROR> *cmd_build* Model error: Dependency name 'gmsh' found, but expected 'gmsh-fpm' instead
STOP 1

Kinda weird, but let’s try to change ‘gmsh-fpm’ to ‘gmsh’ in the .toml file and try again. This time fpm was succesful. In build/depedencies I can see the downloaded repository ‘gmsh’ (also the duplicate gmsh-fpm from the first try compiling. I deleted this one).

Seems like I’m almost done, however when I try to actually use the API, an error occures and I can’t figure out the reason. Here is my small program

program main
   use, intrinsic :: iso_c_binding
   use gmsh
   implicit none

type(gmsh_t) :: gmsh

! Before using any functions in the Python API, Gmsh must be initialized:
   call gmsh%initialize()

! This should be called when you are done using the Gmsh Python API:
   call gmsh%finalize()
end program main

Just start and close gmsh. Nothing to fancy. And here is the error I get:

PS C:\Thomas\FortranTest\my_gmsh_project> fpm run --link-flag "-LC:\Thomas\Programme\gmsh-4.11.1-sdk\lib"
gmsh.f90                               done.
libmy_gmsh_project.a                   done.