Gmsh v4.11.0 official support for Fortran API

Gmsh has released version 4.11.0 which officially includes a new Object Oriented Fortran API.
This brings Fortran usage in Gmsh up to par with C++, Python and Julia.

You can download the entire Gmsh SDK via https://gmsh.info/
or just the Fortran API fpm package (still requires libgmsh to be installed) via GitHub - gnikit/gmsh-fpm: Gmsh API using the Fortran Package Manager (fpm)

Relevant LinkedIn post: Christophe Geuzaine on LinkedIn: #meshing #finiteelementanalysis #fortran

P.S. The API is autogenerated but suggestions to improve it are always welcome.

9 Likes

Excellent API work! I see there’s a customized Python script in the gmsh repository that does the heavy lifting of converting to Fortran API. I’m interested to hear your comments about these couple things:

• did you choose a custom script because it was faster, say, than using a more automated tool like SWIG? I’m no expert in that but I think it would be a choice to consider with such a long API

• You’re wrapping C commands to empty classes, is that because GMSH completely hides memory allocation? I usually wrap stuff using an opaque C pointer, so I can know at least whether the object is allocated on the C side, e.g.:

type :: fortran_wrapper
   type(c_ptr) :: c_memory = c_null_ptr

contains

procedure :: is_allocated
end type fortran_wrapper

! really dumb example   
logical function is_allocated(this)
   class(fortran_wrapper), intent(in) :: this

is_allocated = c_associated(this%c_memory)
end function is_allocated

but maybe GMSH hides all the memory stuff behind the API, I don’t know.

1 Like

Thanks, I’m glad that some might find this work useful.