On the beginner-friendliness of scientific libraries

The title is a bit provocative, and I’m not as upset as it might sound. I enjoying lurking on this forum and others to see what cool things people make and do. However, I almost invariably run into a particular stumbling block.

The description for the cool library almost always starts with:

LibTimeTwister solves the Flux Capacitor Equations using the Doc Brown Numerical Integration Scheme, which is a variant of the Spock “Take A Guess” Half Stepping Integration Method. It is robust and optimized to run on GPUs with a user-friendly interface. Also supported are the Wibbly-Wobbly Timey-Whiney TARDIS temporal mechanics equations on an unstructured temporal-spatial grid.

After that is instructions on how to build it, with maybe a few examples, a link to the reference material and a license.

Sounds cool, right? Unfortunately for me, I have no background in temporal mechanics. This is the first I’ve heard of it. I want to learn more! Well, wikipedia either is a stub or an overcomplicated morass of math hieroglyphs that I cannot understand. Maybe a blog post here or a blog post there. I find a $200 textbook - don’t have time or money for that.

So, my plea is for libraries that implement cool stuff is to try, to some degree, to explain what the cool stuff is. I understand we can’t all write textbooks with our libraries. We have to start assuming our audience has some level of understanding. I’m just asking for that level to be a little less than “already an expert-mode”.

As a specific example, I ran into this this week while looking at the recently posted rklib. I’m not picking on it. Obviously a lot of time and effort went into a great and comprehensive library. As I said, I run into this all the time, with all sorts of software projects.