Hi! looking for new Fortran resources

Hi there. I have just joined this forum, which I reached while having some random walk at google. I would like to introduce myself, however, I haven’t found a corresponding subforum to do that, so I thought to post it as “uncategorized”. I’m a physicist from Argentina, I have a degree and a Ph.D. in physics, and I have been working with Fortran since I started my Ph. D, like 6 years ago. I’ve learned most of what I know of Fortran by reading, and hands-on. I started working in Fortran programming with other physicists, I’ve learned the basics in Fortran 77 (using common blocks, ending at the 72 columns, and the like). Then I moved to Fortran90. I have successfully parallelized my code with MPI and worked on supercomputers.

I’m always trying to improve my programming skills and my understanding of the language. I have found Fortran to be very intuitive, and I love it. However, most of what I’ve done have followed some sort of “intuitive” path, except for MPI, I didn’t have to rely on books to write my codes, and I think that might have produced some sort of pitfalls in my programming because sometimes reading a book written by an expert gives you a deeper understanding on what you’re doing. I have made some programming in C too, I still prefer Fortran. I would like to learn more about the language and its foundations. I’m actually willing to learn some assembler coding, in order to improve my understanding of low-level programming.

If you have any recommended reads on Fortran that can improve my general understanding of the language, be it in this forum, or from other sources, like websites, or books, it would be greatly appreciated. Of course, my interest is in scientific and high-performance computing.

Best regards,
D.

6 Likes

Hi @Daedalus

welcome to the Discourse. You will find the learning materials written or gathered by our (your!) community on its main website (considered to be the new Home of Fortran):