What does overloading with "module procedure" specifically do?

I’ve been coding Fortran professionally for about a year and a half now, but the legacy code doesn’t use any features of modern Fortran, so I’m very new in this regard. My experience is in languages like C#, Kotlin and TypeScript.

Advice on how to create “overloads” of functions on Stack Overflow and right here states I must write something like this

interface the_thing_callers_use
  module procedure foo, bar, baz
end interface

With the definitions of foo, bar, and baz in the contains portion of a module. My question is, what does this actually do? I’ve struggled to find documentation on the “module procedure” statement, and interfaces in general. I understand this allows someone to write

program main
  call the_thing_callers_use(1, 2, 3)
end program

But what actually goes on? How does it “match” the real function to the interface (if that’s even an appropriate description of what happens)? How do dummy arguments work? How type safe is it? Do foo, bar, and baz need to have the same return type? Are foo, bar, and baz now “private”?

I’m more looking for general information, but my specific use case involves me wanting to declare a second, double precision function with the same name and arguments as an existing single precision one in the library I’m working on. I thought I could change the actual name of the function and create an interface to not affect existing callers. (Most of the application is legacy and uses single precision, I’m using double precision in a specific portion and new code). Any help here is much appreciated.

2 Likes

The compiler matches the type, kind, and rank (TKR) of the argument list with the possible routines, and it selects the one that matches. This means that the TKR of the various possible routines must be distinct.

2 Likes

@adamyakes ,

Welcome to this forum.