Use Coarray within Visual Studio+Intel oneAPI

Hi there,

i am new to the Coarray feature of FORTRAN 2008. I try to practice this powerful function within Visual Studio IDE + intel oneAPI. With the compiler option /Qcoarray:shared, a simple null command-line program always produces Unknown option: -localonly. Did someone happen to experience the same issue and would like to give any hints about it? I would be very appreciated for your help.

I think the shared option requires a network of computers that can cooperate. I have just tested with just -Qcoarray and that works fine.

Hm, -Qcoarray:shared made no difference. I get the same result. But I am running the program in a console window, not in VS. (Note: ifort and ifx both work fine)

Could you post your program’s code and the exact compile/link options? Plus the compiler version, that might at some point be helpful too.

Hi Arjen, thanks for your reply.

Following is my program. Basically, it does nothing but with the switch “Enable Coarrays” on which adds the compiler option /Qcoarray:shared:

program test0

implicit none

write(*,*) 'Hello, World!'

end program test0

I also run it under the command line window on Windows 10. It always outputs Unknown option: -localonly rather than the espected Hello, World!.

I am using the ifx (or specifically Intel® Fortran Compiler 2024.0.2 included in Intel oneAPI 2024). But I also tried ifort. It does not change the result.

the compiler options are

/nologo /debug:full /Od /standard-semantics /Qcoarray:shared /warn:interfaces /module:"x64\Debug\\" /object:"x64\Debug\\" /Fd"x64\Debug\vc170.pdb" /traceback /check:bounds /check:stack /libs:dll /threads /dbglibs /c

and the options for the Linker are

/OUT:"..\bin\Win\test0.exe" /INCREMENTAL:NO /NOLOGO /MANIFEST:NO /DEBUG /PDB:"..\bin\Win\test0.pdb" /SUBSYSTEM:CONSOLE /IMPLIB:"..\bin\Win\test0.lib"