Type-bound procedures -- motivation for PASS and NOPASS attributes

I am studying type-bound procedures (TBP) by reading Leair and Metcalf/Reid/Cohen and have questions about the motivations of some features.

By default, a TBP will have a passed-object dummy argument (PODA) that is the first argument. A benefit of TBP is that

use mod, only: some_type

will import all the procedures bound to some_type. With regular procedures that have arguments of type(some_type), their names would need to be exported separately.

With the PASS attribute the PODA need not be the first argument – this is more flexible. But why would you need that flexibility?. With NOPASS there is no PODA. When would this be used? One application I can think of is to return information about the type rather than an instance of a type. Here is a small program I wrote to try out TBPs with attributes.

module date_mod
implicit none
type date
  integer :: year, month, day
  contains
    procedure             :: init
    procedure, pass(this) :: init_pass
    procedure, nopass     :: init_nopass
    procedure             :: disp
    procedure, nopass     :: disp_format
end type date
contains
!
impure elemental subroutine disp(this)
class(date), intent(in) :: this
write (*,"(i4.4,2('-',i2.2))") this%year, this%month, this%day
end subroutine disp
!
impure elemental subroutine disp_format()
write (*,"('yyyy-mm-dd')") 
end subroutine disp_format
!
impure elemental subroutine init(this,year,month,day)
integer    , intent(in)  :: year, month, day
class(date), intent(out) :: this 
this%year  = year
this%month = month
this%day   = day
end subroutine init
!
impure elemental subroutine init_pass(year,month,day,this)
! "this" can be later argument since pass(this) specified
this%year  = year
this%month = month
this%day   = day
end subroutine init_pass
!
impure elemental subroutine init_nopass(this,year,month,day)
this%year  = year
this%month = month
this%day   = day
end subroutine init_nopass
end module date_mod
!