Runge-Kutta code reuse: fpm

Hello. I’m an undergraduate student new to Fortran.

I currently write a function, i.e in rungekutta.f90 and I copy-paste it to another project directory when needed. I’m not sure if this is the typical workflow. I wish I could reuse code with fpm. Thanks!

1 Like

I would like to save the rk4 function in a separate unit, because I don’t want to modify it unintentionally. I currently save everything (rk4, the equation and the main program) in a single unit.

Hi @une and welcome!

Assuming you got an fpm binary in your path, first create a new fpm package like this:

$ fpm new ode
 + mkdir -p ode
 + cd ode
 + mkdir -p ode/src
 + mkdir -p ode/test
 + mkdir -p ode/app
 + git init ode
Initialized empty Git repository in /home/milan/Work/fortran/ode/.git/

You’ll get the ode directory in your current path.

$ cd ode
$ tree
├── app
│   └── main.f90
├── fpm.toml
├── README.md
├── src
│   └── ode.f90
└── test
    └── main.f90

3 directories, 5 files

Now put your ode module in src/ode.f90 and your program in app/main.f90, and type

$ fpm build

to only compile the library and program, or

$ fpm run

to compile and run.

1 Like

Hello. Thank you @milancurcic for the detailed response. It helped me a lot.

When I run “fpm new ode”, fpm creates the ode directory, but the subdirectories src, test and app are not created. I manually create the subdirectories and I follow your instructions and now the program works as expected.

However, there’s one problem with my code. The compiler says
“Procedure ‘f’ called with an implicit interface”. Is it important? “fpm run” shows the correct response though. Thanks!

ode-f90

“fpm build”, output

In general, yes. It’s not hurting you here, but using explicit interfaces when passing procedures to other procedures can save you from one kind of nasty bug. As you have it now:

real function rk4(f, x, y, h)
    implicit none
    real, external :: f