Modern Fortran Subroutine Arguments in continuation lines

Hello fellow Fortran devs,
I am new in a forum but relatively experienced in fortran. My development environment seems to be working fine however, whenever I continue my subroutine arguments in the next line, argument color highlights are gone. As you can see, when I start typing the arguments after opening the paranthesis they are italicized and colored properly. However, when I continue the arguments in the continuation lines the highlighting gones. This affects modern fortran suggestions as well. I mean, when compile this module and use it in another code following happens. Modern Fortran autocompletes “call ED” as call EDINIT(). But it cannot show me the arguments of the subroutine. However, when I remove continuation lines and write them one after another without caring about the line length then autocompletion shows me all of the arguments. Any ideas about why? Please feel free to ask me any related or missing information. Thanks in advance.

Hi @ygtshn
I think this is a bug with the Modern Fortran VS Code extension. From what I understand, comment lines and white space lines can be ignored between continuation lines, but the Modern Fortran extension is not ignoring them.

I tested this behaviour with free-form source code as well, and the behaviour is the same - white space/comment lines between continuation lines cause the syntax highlighting to break. As far as I can tell, this behaviour only occurs for the argument list when declaring a procedure - not when calling. It might also be related to this syntax highlighting bug.

1 Like

From what I understand you stumbled into the bug @jaiken pointed out:

For the autocompletions I am not sure I understand.

Could you please assemble two Minimal Working Examples (MWEs), the first one reproducing the syntax highlighting bug, and the second the autocompletion bug. The smaller the code the better.