Maintain fpm installable lapack under fortran-lang?

Does anybody maintain fpm-installable version of reference lapack (GitHub - Reference-LAPACK/lapack: LAPACK development repository) ?

We should maintain it under fortran-lang, and then possibly use it in stdlib as the default package. This should be configurable (via fpm and other build systems) so that one can build stdlib with MKL or OpenBlas. But using the reference Lapack (which is or can be made pure Fortran I believe) as the default should make it problem free to install, and thus we can add high level wrappers to stdlib.

4 Likes

When I first starting using Fortran with LAPACK as an undergrad I was surprised to find linear algebra operations were noticeably slower compared to MATLAB – this was because at the time I didn’t know about the difference between reference LAPACK vs. optimised implementations like OpenBLAS.

I’m not sure it is a good idea to use reference LAPACK as the default option here because it can’t compete with implementations like OpenBLAS which could lead to the perception that Fortran is slow for linear algebra in comparison to other languages.

Rather I think we should promote the use of optimised implementations and make it easy to do so.
This was one of the motivations behind quickstart-fortran which also install OpenBLAS for Windows making it easy to link against from fpm.

Granted, linking against MKL is still an open issue for fpm; see also:

4 Likes

I’m worried about the maintenance efforts for the full LAPACK library. It would be nice to have the interfaces however, kind of like what @awvwgk has done for BLAS: GitHub - awvwgk/blas-interface: Interface declarations for basic linear algebra subprograms. The interfaces are probably quite stable by now.