Issues with Intel Fortran in Visual Studio

Intel Fortran windows debugger for Visual Studio Code (and/or other editors).

I’m preparing a longer entry on why I think this is necessary for Windows users. (In short: the classic Visual Studio environment is very user-unfriendly for this day and age, for various reasons).

7 Likes

May I know why visual studio + intel Fortran is very user-unfriendly?
It seems Intel OneAPI + visual studio is not too bad. But I am not good at using debugger, perhaps you could elaborate a little bit more? Thanks.

We’ve been using Intel Fortran in our company to build a small FEM solver + a set of libraries for about 10 years. We have a solution containing about 15 projects (some executables, some libraries.
The problems I run into on a daily basis are:

• ifort randomly stops building for an unknown reason. Writes something like “Operation didn’t succeed” to output, nothing more. VS restart needed.
  • after several hours of usage, the editor gradually slows down to a snail’s pace for fortran files, to the point where the letters you type appear several seconds after you press the keys. This has been happening on all the machines we have on all the versions of Intel Fortran we’ve had. VS restart needed.
  • the UI for configuring projects is annoying and makes making mistakes easy.
    There’s no way to just type a list of command line switches you want to pass to the compiler. You have to go through a graphical interface and click through 20 different sections to find your options. The names of the options have no hint as to what they actually generate in the command line, you have to guess or search for each of the names in the manual to find out.
    All of this is completely redundant just to please Microsoft people who thought everything needs to fit in a GUI. I very much prefer Makefiles and I would migrate to them instantly if I had the choice.
  • the supplied IntelliSense for Fortran is useless.