Asking for suggestions about books on modern Fortran

I have been using F77 and Fortran 90 for years. Now for the project I am currently working on, I would like to try the more recent Fortran (so-called modern Fortran?). Can you please suggest books that go through the modern features? I am particularly interested in the OOP paradigm included in these new versions. I know, derived types had been introduced since Fortran90 but from what I saw on some occasions, there seems to be more features associated with derived types that are added in these later Fortran versions, and I would like to learn the formal way. I am not entirely new to OOP, I have been using C++ and Python up to some degree, but

2 Likes

Welcome @diosium to the Fortran discourse. I am not an expert in OOP concepts in Fortran.
But here are a few suggestions including an online course at the University of Virginia.
1.Modern Fortran Explained
2. Online course at the University of Virginia, specifically see the classes part in there: RC Learning Portal

May be someone expert in OOP in Fortran can provide the best suggestions!!

best of luck on a new journey!!

2 Likes

Modern Fortran Explained (0xford 2018) by Metcalf, Reid and Cohen. A new edition is due out soon.

2 Likes

When I joined this discourse group I heard about Milan Curcic’s “Modern Fortran: Building Efficient Parallel Applications” from Manning Books. Milan is very active in this group.

5 Likes

New edition now listed at OUP: 07 December 2023 (Estimated)
Modern Fortran Explained
New color, new author.

3 Likes

Modern Fortran Explained is a good book for someone who already knows the basics of Fortran. For someone who has no prior experience with Fortran I prefer a true college level textbook. The only one of those I recommend is Stephen Chapman’s book,

Unlike MFE, the information is presented in a logical and consistent order suitable for classroom teaching.