Wrong (strange outputs) of real numbers

I am new in fortran and I am really curios about these strange outputs:
real*8 z1=0.7 but it shows 0.69999998807907104
Meanwhile y1 and y2 should be equal, but they have very small diference in numbers on the end.
Can someone explain this? Something wrong with my pc or with compiler? I am using tdm gcc compiler and Modern fortran

Your compiler uses 32 bits real by default.

Try z1=0.7d0 to use double precision (64 bits). The last digit may still be false, but it is normal, real numbers are stored with a limited number of bits in your CPU and in binary. And for example 0.7 has an infinite number of digits in base 2:

0.7 = 0b0.10110011001100110011001100110011001100110011001101...

Note also there are better ways to declare real numbers in modern Fortran. See that discussion:

And see also that tool:

2 Likes

Thank you for reply!
It’s really strange because I downloaded x64 version and compile uses 32 bit by default. Maybe you know the way how to change it?

Note also there are better ways to declare real numbers in modern Fortran. See that discussion:

Thanks for this too!

Some compilers have options to promote single to double precision, but it is not recommended to use such options for new code. It is better to follow the advice given.

The results for y1 and y2 agree to 15 significant digits. If anything is wrong, it is that you expect more precision than is reasonable for 64-bit real arithmetic.

Similarly, the single precision values 0.7 and 0.699999988 agree to better than 8 decimal digits, which means that they are the same as far as the computer is concerned.

So better leave it work on 32bit?
And what does mean “new code”? When change to x64 is ok?

If anything is wrong, it is that you expect more precision than is reasonable for 64-bit real arithmetic

Oh, sorry for stupid questions, but didn’t my compiler uses 32-bit (as it mentioned above)?
Or you are talking about another thing?