Workflow needed to incorporate code from program A into program B

If possible, I would like some advice regarding an efficient workflow to add code from one fortran program (A) to another program (B).

In particular, to add the “runon” function in SWAP (https://www.swap.alterra.nl/) to the MAESPA program (https://bitbucket.org/remkoduursma/maespa/src/master/).

(1) How should I approach this task and is there a formal description, e.g. refactoring? re-engineering? that helps to refine searches on Google etc. I have bought Milan’s book, which is very helpful regarding refactoring; but it doesn’t quite answer this workflow.

(2) What toolsets are available to analyse fortran code (free form, f90) ?
As a novice, I am able to compile both programs and generate the documentation and graphs using doxygen in Code::Blocks. This shows some internal relationships. But I seem to have only commercial options (e.g. Understand, SciTools) to analyse the fortran code. Unlike options for C++. e.g. Sourcetrails. Eclipse plugin “Photran” offers some options for refactoring.

Thanks for any suggestions and help.

1 Like

In general, the process could be fairly simple if both programs are written in a fairly modular and decoupled way. Just add the call(s) to the functions, the appropriate use statements, and make sure all the source files are copied into the project.

If the communication between the programs needs to be more complicated, or if there is coupling making things more complicated than simply call the procedure you’re interested, things get exponentially more difficult. At that point your idea of using some tools to analyze the code to give you more insight into the inner workings and various views is the way to go.

Also, shameless plug, Damian Rouson and I are providing training and consulting services together. Check out our websites and get in touch with us if you’re at all interested in getting a quote.