Trying to get Gtk-Fortran to work in VS2019 with Intel Fortran Compiler

I am attempting to get the gtk-fortran (Home · vmagnin/gtk-fortran Wiki · GitHub) library to compile/integrate with an existing code base that is in Visual Studio 2019 using the Intel Fortran Compiler. The existing program uses FreeGLUT to create a visual interface, but doesn’t provide any way to create UI elements other than a pop-up menu.

I got GTK-Fortran working with Code::Blocks IDE following the example on the github page, and was able to skin out the GUI that I envision using in the final tool, but trying to get the same example to build/compile in Visual Studio with the Intel Fortran Compiler is just going nowhere fast.

Any ideas? I’m really new to all of these things, so any help would be great (first time working in FORTRAN).

1 Like

Welcome @v91_bleach to the Fortran Discourse!

but trying to get the same example to build/compile in Visual Studio with the Intel Fortran Compiler is just going nowhere fast.

Can you give us more details on the problems/errors you encountered?

Under Windows, I am personally always building gtk-fortran using the MSYS2 environment, with gfortran, the same way as in Linux.

I know @han190 successfully built gtk-fortran using Intel Fortran 19:
https://github.com/vmagnin/gtk-fortran/issues/115#issuecomment-539382239
but it was under macOS and probably from command line.

Maybe some people using Visual Fortran under Windows will help…

Hey, thanks for having me :slight_smile: I was actually referred here from reddit as people said I should ask here since you (the dev of gtk-fortran) frequents this forum.