Shared libraries with bind(C) for dummies

Hello everybody,

i am a postdoc in the general field of computational solid state physics, currently based in Zagreb. I mostly write my algorithms in Fortran, and i’m recently discovering the possibilities of creating bind(c) routines, compiling them into a .so library, and then loading them into other languages.

I’ve never had much proper programming education, so reading high-level code where these things are common routine is not simple for me. More often than not they are not commented, and the descriptions are usually not very understandable. StackOverflow provides some relief, but it’s also hard, and time-consuming to understand some specific problem of somebody, only to conclude their problem is different than yours.

So anyway, i have created a git repo of what i have for now: GitHub - mgoonde/f_so_toy
The idea being to compile the Fortran api into one single .so, that gets interfaced from different codes, and see how to pass different types of data back and forth. My starting point was basically to learn from the LAMMPS code, see how they do it there, and try to emulate myself. For the moment i have interfaces to Fortran, Python, lua, and C (with C having the most issues, i am crap in C :slight_smile: ).

But i have lots of questions regarding the procedure. The main idea is to pack any data that gets passed around into type( c_ptr ) variables, and then carry around their corresponding type and size. That seems to make some procedures quite nice, but not sure if this is safe/efficient/leaks … Also, where is the memory allocated versus where it should be allocated, should c_loc be used, or is it preferred to malloc in the application and then c_f_pointer in the API? Can such interfaces perform safely with openMP, and how does this behave in MPI, etc. What could be some better approaches, or what should be kept in mind when designing such things.