Segmentation Fault while running a Fortran based model

Hey,
I am new to Fortran models. I am using a model called VECTRI (Adrian Mark Tompkins / VECTRI · GitLab) for my research. While compiling, I got an unexpected error which says -

Program received signal SIGSEGV: Segmentation fault - invalid memory reference.
vectri: line 264: 34966 Segmentation fault (core dumped) $input/vectri.exe $namelist

I have run the model successfully before but never encountered this error. Can someone help me debug or solve this error?
I would be happy to provide more details if needed.

Hey @Dr.Mayweed,

Welcome to the forum!

Typically in cases like this, I use a memory profiler. I use Linux and so I use a profiler called valgrind. There are probably some Windows alternatives too.

Program received signal SIGSEGV: Segmentation fault - invalid memory reference.
ChatGPT

A segmentation fault, often referred to as SIGSEGV, is a specific kind of error caused by a program trying to read or write an illegal memory location. Here are a few common reasons why a segmentation fault might occur:

Dereferencing NULL or Invalid Pointers: Attempting to access memory through a pointer that is either null or hasn't been properly allocated.

Buffer Overflows: Writing data to a buffer that exceeds its allocated memory space, which can corrupt or access adjacent memory.

Accessing Freed Memory: Trying to read or write memory that has been freed or deallocated.

Stack Overflow: Excessive memory usage on the stack, often due to deep or infinite recursion.

Improper Memory Management: Mistakes in dynamically allocating or deallocating memory using functions like malloc, free, new, and delete.

To debug and fix a segmentation fault:

Use a Debugger: Tools like GDB in Linux or Visual Studio's debugger can be very helpful. They can provide the exact line of code causing the issue and allow you to inspect the state of your program at the time of the crash.