Partial derivative

Hi
I am very new to Fortran, I am trying to find if there is a simple way to do partial derivative, like in MATLAB or python for instance-. Is there a package that I can use ?
Thank you !

2 Likes

Welcome to the forum. Some threads on automatic differentiation are

1 Like

Welcome @dka!

Could you be more specific what type of partial derivatives do you need? Is it related to finite differences, finite elements, or a perhaps just a Jacobian calculation?

2 Likes

Hi @ivanpribec
Yes it is related to finite elements. I need to calculate the Jacobian and B-matrix for a specific element.

For analytical jacobian or partial derivatives, I think you would require symbolic computing. But for the numerical ones - simple forward, backward or central difference would do.
For which element are you doing ? Are you working on solid/structural elements - beam, plate, shell …?

1 Like

Hi @Ashok
it is for a 4 nodes isoparametric element

For FEM, the Jacobian and other derivatives depend on the shape functions you are using. The Jacobian to map derivatives between iso-parametric and physical coordinates can be computed analytically (they are just polynomials or rational functions such as NURBS). The resulting equations are the same in any programming language so I’m not sure why you think Fortran would be any different. Any FEM textbook written in the last 50 years will discuss how to compute the derivatives and there are a multitude of open source FEM codes in various programming languages you can use as an example.

There are as many FEM textbooks as there are grains of sand on a beach but here are three that I find useful.

Thomas Hughes,“The Finite Element Method - Linear, Static, and Dynamic Finite Element Analysis”, Dover Publications

Covers the basics well and is a lot cheaper than other FEM textbooks which can be over $200 for the most recent editions.

Smith and Griffiths," Programming the Finite Element Method", Wiley