Optimization Without Using Derivatives: the PRIMA Package, its Fortran Implementation, and Its Inclusion in SciPy

[Update: PRIMA is hiring!]

As mentioned two weeks ago under the thread of LFortran, I have been developing a package named PRIMA for solving general nonlinear optimization problems without using derivatives. @certik suggested that I should write about PRIMA, especially its inclusion in SciPy.

What is PRIMA?

PRIMA is a package for solving general nonlinear optimization problems without using derivatives. It provides the reference implementation of Powell’s renowned derivative-free optimization methods, i.e., COBYLA, UOBYQA, NEWUOA, BOBYQA, and LINCOA. The “P” in the name stands for Powell, and “RIMA” is an acronym for “Reference Implementation with Modernization and Amelioration”.

PRIMA is a project that I have been working intensively on for the past three years. Almost all questions I posted on this forum come from PRIMA.

Who was Powell?

Michael James David Powell FRS was “a British numerical analyst who was among the pioneers
of computational mathematics”
. He was the inventor/early contributor of quasi-Newton method, trust region method, augmented Lagrangian method, and SQP method. Each of them is a pillar of modern numerical optimization. He also made significant contributions to approximation theory and methods, but I hesitate to mention more details as it is not my area.

Among numerous honors, Powell was one of the first two recipients of the Dantzig Prize from the Mathematical Programming Society/Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics (SIAM). This is considered the highest award in optimization.

Why PRIMA?

Professor Powell carefully implemented his derivative-free optimization methods into publicly available solvers. They are widely used by engineers and scientists. For instance, see Section 1 of a recent paper on Powell’s solvers as well as the Google searches of COBYLA and BOBYQA.