Issue on AUTO software, running with Python

Dear community,
I am new to Python and came across it while using the bifurcation software AUTO-07p. As far as I know, it relies on Python in regards of its command line user interface. I am facing following error, which I do not expect to be solved here, but I would be glad for a hint on whether it is something that arises from me as a user not entering the correct commands, or a bug related to installation/configuration and the link between the two programs.
Thank you, best wishes!

Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "<console>", line 1, in <module>
  File "c:\AUTO\auto\07p\python\AUTOCommands.py", line 1585, in run
    res = runner.run()
  File "c:\AUTO\auto\07p\python\runAUTO.py", line 377, in run
    self.runCommand(command, solution)
  File "c:\AUTO\auto\07p\python\runAUTO.py", line 478, in runCommand
    status = self.__runCommand_noredir(command, solution)
  File "c:\AUTO\auto\07p\python\runAUTO.py", line 534, in __runCommand_noredir
    self.__write_constants_solution(stdin, solution)
  File "c:\AUTO\auto\07p\python\runAUTO.py", line 515, in __write_constants_solution
    solution.write(f,mlab=True)
  File "c:\AUTO\auto\07p\python\parseS.py", line 1066, in write
    write_enc(line+os.linesep)
  File "c:\AUTO\auto\07p\python\parseS.py", line 1032, in write_enc
    output.write(s.encode("ascii"))
TypeError: write() argument must be str, not bytes

Hi @lanast

it could be a Python version problem. What is your Python interpreter version? And what is the version used by AUTO-07p?

$ python --version
Python 2.7.17

Thank you @vmagnin for the reply. I had posted this post on the Python discourse, but apparently it appeared here, since I was logged in with github .
I am using Python 3.7.6, according to the command line python --version

In AUTO, the same is used:

Python 3.7.6 (default, Jan 8 2020, 20:23:39) [MSC v.1916 64 bit (AMD64)] on win32