Introduction/Motivation for a Fortran Lecture and History of FORTRAN

Hi everyone,

I’m currently designing a structure for the Fortran lecture I will give end of February.
I think I should start with some general information about Fortran and its history.
But of course, this should be as interesting and motivating as possible.

Therefore, I’m asking for tips in general.
But I also have a specific question:
Since I’m relatively new to Fortran compared to its long history, it would be very kind if some of our much more experienced community members could check if this is correct:

• 1950s developed by IBM
  • 1957 1st FORTRAN compiler (had only arithmetic if)
  • 1958 FORTRAN II introduces functions/subroutines
  • 1962 FORTRAN IV logical data type and if
  • 1966 FORTRAN 66 became first industry standard (American Standard Fortran)
  • 1978 FORTRAN 77 character strings
  • 1992 Fortran 90 with many innovations (14 years of catching up): Free Form, array arithmetic, modules, dynamic arrays, pointers etc.
  • 2004 Fortran 2003 introduces object orientation
  • 2010 Fortran 2008 Coarrays, submodules
  • 2018 Fortran 2018 improved interoperability with C and parallel features

As you can see, I don’t want to go into too much detail. I intend to show how a programming language was developed over a period from punch cards to today’s modern features.

To make this history session more exciting, I want to add code snippets of some versions and breakthroughs achieved with Fortran/FORTRAN to this timeline.
Could you please provide me with some guidance?

5 Likes

Concerning the first two dates

• In December 1953, Backus wrote a letter to his superior Cuthbert Hurd proposing the FORTRAN project for the IBM 704. The project starts in 1954.
  • The FORTRAN compiler is deployed in April 1957 on the IBM 704s.