Implied-do array constructor, type specs, and differences between GFortran, Intel, and LFortran

I am a complete newbie when it comes to Fortran, but I was thinking that this should be a valid program:

program array_constructor
    implicit none
    real :: a(10)

a = [real :: (i*2.5, integer :: i = 1,10)]  ! potential syntax error

print *, a

end program array_constructor

This is accepted by the Intel compilers: ifort and ifx. Unfortunately, GFortran (v. 13.2.0) complains of a syntax error:

array_constructor.f90:5:24:

5 |     a = [real :: (i*2.5, integer :: i = 1,10)] ! causes syntax error
Error: Expected a right parenthesis in expression at (1)

…similarly, LFortran says it is also a syntax error:

syntax error: Token '::' is unexpected here
 --> input:5:34
  |
5 |     a = [real :: (i*2.5, integer :: i = 1,10)] ! causes syntax error
  |                                  ^^ 

The relevant section of the draft 2023 Fortran Standard looks to be “7.8 Construction of array values” that starts on page 99 (PDF page 113). It seems like GFortran and LFortran aren’t liking the optional type specification for the loop do-variable. Which seems odd, since I’ve been under the impression that implicit none is a recommended common practice. Am I overlooking something?

Thanks!

1 Like

Hi, @GregB. Welcome to the forum. As of version 13, you have encountered a missing feature implementation in gfortran. Intel, Cray, and NAG are the compilers with a fully or nearly complete implementation of Fortran 2018. The GNU developers always appreciate and look for new volunteers if you can help improve gfortran.

4 Likes

Thanks @GregB for reporting this unimplemented feature, I created an issue for it: Allow optional types in implied do loops · Issue #4033 · lfortran/lfortran · GitHub. If you or others want to help, we always welcome PRs. This feature shouldn’t be too difficult to implement for a newcomer.

1 Like