I think stdlib should have printf() and fprintf() with C-style formatting

I don’t know if this will be an unpopular opinion. But I think stdlib should come with two functions, printf() and fprintf() with C-style string formatting strings:

program main
    use iso_fortran_env, only: stdout => output_unit
    use stdlib

real :: x = 2.e-4

printf("%e\n",x)
    fprintf(stdout,"%0.5f\n",x)
end program

I have been using Fortran for a decade, and I still can’t remember how Fortran string formatting works. I usually just avoid it and make do without it. I honesty find it quite difficult, and I think it is a barrier to adoption. Specially if you are hoping to bring in Python+NumPy users that already learned the C-style formatting strings.

Just a suggestion.

1 Like

I’m the other way around. I have been using Fortran formatting off and on for 60 years but I have to use C-style formatting with Maple, and it’s a pain.

6 Likes

@danielc, have a look at this existing stdlib issue: Additional format specification languages · Issue #340 · fortran-lang/stdlib · GitHub

This can’t work in Fortran. In C, both functions return an int (which people often discard). But in Fortran you can’t do this, as it doesn’t represent a valid statement.

In the stdlib thread I linked, I was thinking about a translator function:

write(output_unit,cfmt("%0.5f\n")) x