Fortran: Error: Type mismatch between actual argument at (1) and actual argument at (2) (INTEGER(8)/INTEGER(2))

I am a beginner of Fortran and running a model written by Fortran. When I tried to compile it, I got an error message like:

libtool: link: (cd ".libs" && rm -f "libgrib_api_f77.so" && ln -s "libgrib_api_f77.so.1.0.0" "libgrib_api_f77.so")
libtool: link: ar cru .libs/libgrib_api_f77.a  grib_fortran.o grib_f77.o
libtool: link: ranlib .libs/libgrib_api_f77.a
libtool: link: ( cd ".libs" && rm -f "libgrib_api_f77.la" && ln -s "../libgrib_api_f77.la" "libgrib_api_f77.la" )
gfortran   -c -o same_int_long.o same_int_long.f90
same_int_long.f90:23:18:

17 |   call check_long(x2(1),x2(2),ret)
   23 |   call check_long(x4(1),x4(2),ret)
Error: Type mismatch between actual argument at (1) and actual argument at (2) (INTEGER(4)/INTEGER(2)).
same_int_long.f90:29:18:

17 |   call check_long(x2(1),x2(2),ret)
   29 |   call check_long(x8(1),x8(2),ret)
Error: Type mismatch between actual argument at (1) and actual argument at (2) (INTEGER(8)/INTEGER(2)).
same_int_long.f90:51:17:

45 |   call check_int(x2(1),x2(2),ret)
   51 |   call check_int(x4(1),x4(2),ret)
Error: Type mismatch between actual argument at (1) and actual argument at (2) (INTEGER(4)/INTEGER(2)).
same_int_long.f90:57:17:

45 |   call check_int(x2(1),x2(2),ret)
   57 |   call check_int(x8(1),x8(2),ret)
Error: Type mismatch between actual argument at (1) and actual argument at (2) (INTEGER(8)/INTEGER(2)).
make[2]: *** [Makefile:546: same_int_long.o] Error 1
make[2]: Leaving directory '/gpfs/home3/eccei339/snellius_surfex/open_SURFEX_V8_1/src/LIB/grib_api-1.17.0-Source/fortran'
make[1]: *** [Makefile:604: all-recursive] Error 1
make[1]: Leaving directory '/gpfs/home3/eccei339/snellius_surfex/open_SURFEX_V8_1/src/LIB/grib_api-1.17.0-Source'
make: *** [Makefile:398: /home/eccei339/snellius_surfex/open_SURFEX_V8_1/src/LIB/grib_api-1.17.0-Source-LXgfortran/include/grib_api.mod] Error 2