Fortran array ubound function

Hi Fortran experts,

I am quite new to fortran, recently I am going through some fortran training materials and unable to make sense of a fortran array function: UBOUND.

in below subroutine, SUBROUTINE cholin(kb)

n=UBOUND(kb,1); iw=UBOUND(kb,2)-1
kb is an array, what is the difference between n and iw?

I am thinking n will be dimension 1 array, for a 3 x 3 arrary, n will be 9
and iw will be two dimension array, so iw= 3-1 equals 2. is it right?

it seems quite difficult to find materials that explains these functions in details.

Thanks in advance for anyone that could give some explanations.

Martin

SUBROUTINE cholin(kb)

!—Choleski Factorization on a Lower Triangle Stored as a Band—

USE precision; IMPLICIT NONE

REAL(iwp),INTENT(in out)::kb(:,:); INTEGER::i,j,k,l,ia,ib,n,iw; REAL(iwp)::x

n=UBOUND(kb,1); iw=UBOUND(kb,2)-1

DO i=1,n
x=.0_iwp
DO j=1,iw; x=x+kb(i,j)**2; END DO
kb(i,iw+1)=SQRT(kb(i,iw+1)-x)
DO k=1,iw
x=.0_iwp
IF(i+k<=n)THEN
IF(k/=iw)THEN
DO l=iw-k,1,-1
x=x+kb(i+k,l)*kb(i,l+k)
END DO
END IF
ia=i+k; ib=iw-k+1
kb(ia,ib)=(kb(ia,ib)-x)/kb(i,iw+1)
END IF
END DO
END DO
RETURN
END SUBROUTINE cholin

Hi Martin and welcome!

The second argument of ubound is optional. In case it’s absent, the result is an array with the upper bounds of every dimension. In your example with an 3x3 array, this would return [3, 3], because both dimensions are 3 elements long (a 2x4 array would return [2, 4] etc.).
If the second argument is present, it “selects” the dimension you are looking for. It’s the same as if you would take the array with all upper bounds and then take the n-th entry.

When want to know what a function is doing, I look it up at the Fortran Wiki. Many times there are good examples (not so in this case).

1 Like

Fortran-lang has an example, but I think a simpler example like this would be a useful addition:

program main ! output in comments
implicit none
real :: x(4),y(-4:3),z(5,-3:2,7)
print*,lbound(x),ubound(x)     ! 1 4