Fortls installation & Autocomplete Suggestions

Hi everyone,

I’m new with coding in Fortran and I have just installed VS code. I’m not an experienced computer user so bear with me. When I first installed the Modern Fortran package and started writing some code, a prompt appeared stating " It is highly recommended to install fortls to have all the features" so I tried to do so and got an error message stating “Unable to install fortls, try manually”. Being a total newbie I didn’t know how to install it manually until today (I installed it with Pypi), however I haven’t seen the prompt of installing fortls never again after the 4th time launching VS code (I pressed the other button opposite to “install”). So basically what I want to know is:

How do I know fortls is being used by VS code?

Also, I have a problem with the autocomplete suggestions (It might be caused by not having fortls but I don’t know). Basically VS code suggests me words written inside comments. If I turn off the option of having words suggested then variables are not suggested anymore (in reality it is like VS studio does not consider variables as variable). Finally, it doesn’t suggest for command like “REAL” or “Print” (considers them as words as well). Is there a fix?

Thank you in advanced and sorry if it sounds confusing or if I didn’t label things correctly in the title.

Giulio

1 Like

Welcome to the Discourse @OnlyGiulio.

From the looks of it, your fortls installation is not being picked up by VS Code. You can tell if fortls is working in a couple of ways:

• Look in the log Channel for the Modern Fortran extension and see if something like this shows up
  • In your VS Code settings.json set the option "fortran.fortls.notifyInit": true, and when fortls finishes its initialisation step a notification will pop up.