Fitting surface

Hello,

I’m a PhD student in modeling mechanical behavior of materials. For my work, i need to fit a surface on a 3d curve x,y,z. I had a look in all libraries but i had difficulties to find an understandable working example. The best code i have found is the one from Alan Miller : lsp and quadsurf but the resulting surface does not fit my input data for some reason…

Does anyone know where i can find a code to do this 3d fitting with polynomials?

Thank you for your help.

Romain

1 Like

Welcome to the forum. Do you have a working code for multiple regression (linear least squares)? (I have used Burkardt’s qr_solve.) If so, using it to fit a quadratic surface in two dimensions is simple – something like this:

program xsurface
integer, parameter :: nobs = 1000, dp = kind(1.0d0), ncoeff = 6
real(kind=dp) :: x(nobs),y(nobs),z(nobs),a(nobs,ncoeff),coeff(ncoeff)
! read x, y, z
! construct design matrix A
a(:,1) = 1.0_dp ! intercept
a(:,2) = x
a(:,3) = y
a(:,4) = x**2
a(:,5) = y**2
a(:,6) = x*y
call fit(a,z,coeff) ! need a subroutine that solves A*coeff = Z in the least-squares sense
end program xsurface

I read this to mean that you have one surface to fit.

I like to use gnuplot for this. The fit() function uses the nonlinear least-squares Marquardt-Levenberg algorithm. It is described in the documentation and there are examples at gnuplot demo script: fit.dem It isn’t Fortran but it does have good graphics, which are important to assess your result.

In simple cases you can use the LINEST function in Excel to do a multiple linear regression using the values of the polynomials as the independent variables.

Thank you Beliavsky, the code you suggest adapted a bit with the qr_solve is working !! :smiley:
You made my day !
Thank you

1 Like

The LM method is for nonlinear least-squares. The problem posed by the OP is a linear least-squares problem.