File size of compiled Fortran programs - Windows/Linux

Hi everyone. I’m a real beginner with Fortran and have found this site a fantastic resource. My question is actually one my son asked me and I couldn’t answer, so I wondered if anyone might be able to educate me a bit!

So a thing I have found useful in learning the language is doing some simple programs to help my son with his school maths homework - really simple routines to help him check his answers in homework, that kind of thing. I showed him a simple program I did which I ran on both my Linux and Windows laptops. I had originally compiled the code on the Linux (Ubuntu) machine and it only takes up 18Kb on the machine. However, when I compile the very same code on the Windows machine, the file is over 2.5Mb!

There is absolutely no difference in the code and they were both compiled with the respective Windows and Linux versions of gfortran. So he asked me why one file was so much bigger than the other, and I can’t answer him. Any ideas?

3 Likes

@DavidMcP ,

Welcome to the forum, hope both your son and you continue to benefit from Fortran while learning many computing paradigms and platforms!

As to your question, a good one that some GCC/gfortran FOSS volunteer might be able to answer.

By the way, consider what is arguably the shortest conformant Fortran program:

end

How big is the executable on Linux? On Windows, it’s over 2.2 MB!

2 Likes

@FortranFan thanks for your reply! It will definitely be interesting to hear what people think.

I get that end executable to 16.0Kb on Linux :smiley:

I’m sure there is a perfectly good explanation (I did think probably something to do with Windows not being very economical, but that’s a pure guess so I told my son I’d get the real reason from someone who knew a bit about it).