F951: Fatal Error - I need help to compile my first code (macOS 12.4)

Hi All,

I am totally new to this coding stuff, after taking a break of almost 25 years from FORTRAN, decided to come back to it for fun purposes. I saw the Fortran lang on youtube and then subsequently looked at the website for info and a tutorial.

After figuring out what i needed to download and install on my iMac, OS Monterey 12.4 with intel chips from your website i am now in a position to run my first code Hello World from your website. But then in the terminal window i get this:

f951: Fatal Error: Cannot open file ā€˜hello.f90ā€™
compilation terminated.

As per your website instructions iā€™ve installed the following:

Home Brew as per their instruction on their website
(i figured this was the Fortran compiler)

Atom, the relevant libraries, [IDE-FORTRAN by hansec], [atom-ide ui by facebook-atom], [language-fortran by dparkins], Python and FORTRAN LANGUAGE SERVER.
(to be used as the text editor)

I used Home brew to install the FORTRAN LANGUAGE SERVER as well. info on how to do that from their website

So i opened up a new Atom editor window, typed in Manually the code from your tutorial website, saved as hello.f90 file, to the following location:

macdisk/home/documents/coding

went to the terminal and on the command line typed gfortran hello.f90 -o hello

Then i get aforementioned error. To be clear my command prompt was computername:~ home$

Any ideas to help me outā€¦?

The last time i used FORTRAN was on a windows machine, it was FORTRAN 77 and i used a 3.5 inch disk in order to install it on the windows, via DOS! :wink:

Also let me be absolutely clear, i need absolute baby steps, i am not a programmer, or a coder, or a software guy, i have no clue about Terminal, unix, Mac OS at command line level and really donā€™t know what i am doing. Itā€™s a learning curve.

many thanks in advance for any tit bits or advice to get me up and running.

1 Like