Experience of my first Fortran Course

A year ago I announced that I would take over a Fortran lecture at my local university.
This lecture ended roughly one month ago, and I want to share my experience with you. Additionally, I would like to give an outlook what my plans are for the future.

tl;dr: I gave a Fortran course which was nice. :slight_smile:

Prehistory

Short introduction, why I ended up taking over this lecture:
I studied Scientific Programming B.Sc. at the Fachhochschule Aachen (University of Applied Sciences), which also had an elective subject: Fortran. The professor for this course retired, and the exercise leader also devoted herself to other projects.
Since there was no person responsible for the Fortran course any more, I offered to assume it. Last year I lead only the exercises, but this year I was responsible for everything.

Preparation

I wasn’t very well prepared for the course because for a very long time I didn’t know where to start and how to build the course material. In the end, I created slides with Jupyter Notebook. Thanks to Rise and a Fortran Jupyter kernel, I was able to create an interactive presentation with executable code blocks. This was really nice, and the students very much liked it. I wish I had also had the content in text form, as a handout and for self-study, but I had too little time. Instead, I exported the notebook as a PDF and the students said it was enough.

Structure of my course

The course takes place between the winter and summer semesters, 10 dates of 6 h each, and has usually a dozen participants.
I could have done the course the same way as the years before, but I don’t like lectures on programming languages with too much theory (it was 50/50). So, I decided to do as many exercises as possible.
The course ended up being roughly 10% lecture (me explaining a new feature, e.g. modules) and the rest were exercises.