Easiest to build on Windows?

As a followup from this, in the short term what I need is to build a statically-linked binary of the latest version of my package. In linux it is just about installing gfortran and cmake, and doing make.

I have just spent one hour trying to install some fortran compiler on Windows, without success. I have no real experience with doing anything on Windows, so probably this is just my lack of knowledge.

I tried to install gfortran, but I got to a “mingw” page which appeared deprecated. I tried than LFortran, but after installing miniconda I don’t know what to do (“conda” is not a program apparently available anywhere - and during installation the possibility of adding it to the path was highly discouraged).

I have done this before, and I remember having saved a windows installation only for that, for how complicated it was when I tried, but that machine is long gone now.

(also, if for someone building that package in a way is trivial, I won’t refuse that help. What I need is a binary that has the libraries statically linked so the user can just download the executable).

3 Likes

For a simple way to install gfortran on Windows see:

2 Likes

I can recommend MSYS2, it gives you a bash shell with a Cygwin-like runtime as base and (several) MinGW native toolchains on top, which allows linking static binaries for distribution outside of MSYS2. From my experience this is the closest Unix experience one can get on Windows, while still being able to create native binaries. However, it might appear a bit complex due to the different available environments on the first glance.