Changing size of an array within a loop. Good practice?

I am quite new to Fortran, so excuse me if you find my doubt a bit naïve.
I need to implement a loop (do) in which, at each instance, a vector array changes its length. I have implemented this by using an allocatable integer array wich is allocated once we enter into the loop to its corresponding length, and then, deallocated after finishing the work done within the loop.
My question is: Is this a good practice in Fortran?
I am interested in fast performance, and I can think in other ways of doing this, e.g. keeping the size of the array constant, initializing all the elements to -1 (my elements are always positive) and modifying just the first elements needed at each instance. Then, the code would be a bit more complex as it would have to check if the next element is -1 or not, but this should not be a major problem.
Does this higher complexity pay for the fact of avoiding the “allocate”/“deallocate” issue?

It may depend on how many times you do allocate / deallocate.
Ten would be ok, but a million then perhaps not.
Either way, the allocate overhead might not be too onerous.

If you require array syntax within the loop, you can still allocate the array to the largest size required for the loop, then perform each loop operation in a called routine. This can give you the ability to define the used array size for each loop.

integer :: n,nm
  real, allocatable :: array(:)
  real :: res_n

nm = 100
    allocate ( array(nm) )
    do n = 1,nm
      call work_on_array (array,n,res_n)
    end do
  end

subroutine work_on_array (array,n,res)
  integer :: i,n
  real    :: array(n), res

! now have an array size = n to work on 
    array = 0
    do i = 1, size(array)
      array(i) = i
    end do
    res = dot_product ( array, array )
  end subroutine work_on_array

@jmcano,

Welcome to the forum.

If you are interested in performance, it may be better if you can share your code, or a small example that mimics it.